13/08/16
Trip Advisor

[4 of 5 stars] Reviewed 2 weeks agoI was on the internet looking For the Wheatsheaf in Garstang as we were going for the day and were looking at somewhere to eat. My search found this Wheatsheaf in Woodplumton. I read the reviews and thought to myself next time we are that way I will try it.
Anyway when we got to Garstang the Wheatsheaf there did not serve food till after 5. Thus we ended up in Woodplumpton. What a lovely little pub. quiet area with a beautiful beer garden. The service was quick and friendly.The food was delicious. We both had a baguette, one with roast beef and gravy and one with bacon and melted cheese. Both came with lovely home made chips. The baguettes were a full baguette lovely and warm and fresh. Beef was good and so was the bacon.
We will definitely visit again to try something different, maybe a Sunday roast.

Visited July 2016

[5 of 5 stars]
Value

[5 of 5 stars]
Service
[5 of 5 stars]
Food
13/08/16
TripAdvisor Wheatsheaf Blackpool
Add testimonial text here...
Reviewed 4 weeks agoFriday tea was absolutely brilliant
Even though a private party was in progress and the Pub was very busy we were served with a fantastic meal accompanied with really good ale and wine
Homemade steak pie was out of this world and the fish and chips were equally as good With great service and friendly atmosphere
Would thoroughly recommend this lovely village Pub

Visited July 2016

[5 of 5 stars]
Value

[5 of 5 stars]
Service
[5 of 5 stars]
Food
12/05/16
Tripadvisor Wheatsheaf Blackpool (Woodplumpton)

“Christening venue”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobileWow fantastic place, fantastic staff and service. Had the wheatsheaf for my sons christening venue and I couldn't rate them enough the owners are such a nice couple who go the extra mile and nothing is too much trouble. A++++++Visited April 2016
12/05/16
Trip Advisor Wheatsheaf Blackpool

[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobileCalled here after a long walk on the Lancaster canal as reviews looked good and it's dog friendly. Left ours in the car though as she was filthy. Landlord and staff very friendly - it's just having a refurb so he was explaining what's being done. Theakstons beer was first class! Food was excellent with the Sunday roast, a giant yorkshire pud filled with Sunday roast, and the steak pie all being declared the best. We will definitely visit again.Visited April 2016
15/04/16
Trip Advisor

“A real tea time treat”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 3 weeks agoIt has been well over 10 years since our last visit to the Wheatsheaf, then l can remember being rushed as we had caught them just before end of service, however, we are now very happy that we decided to visit again. It was quite early, just after 5pm and we had been out for most of the afternoon and l was more than ready for a drink, a nice cup of tea, but also more than ready for our evening meal. We were welcomed by the landlord like old friends and we were very quickly made to feel at home me with a good pot of tea and my other half with a pint of lager. The menu was good, with good home made fare, l settled for Mediterranean Tomato soup and my partner decided upon Chicken goujons with a sweet chilli dip. l can honestly say that it has been a very long time since l have had a soup as good as the one served, believe me it was delicious and l could have eaten it for every meal and never got fed up of it and that is some recommendation from me as l am very picky about soup, so top marks.
Our main meal was just as good, with grilled gammon and egg and l had Cold Ham with egg and chips, sorry, but it is one of my favourite meals, so it was very hard for me to resist but l cleaned my plate and l enjoyed every mouthful. By the time we had finished our main meals the pub was filling up with patrons most very eager to partake, we did not hear one word of displeasure, which l always keep my ear open for, not that l am nosey but it is a good rule of thumb as to the quality of the eating establishment. As l had just a little room left we shared a dessert, lovely jam sponge and custard, thus ending our comforting meal. So from us it is a very very big thanks Wheatsheaf and l am already planning our next visit

Visited March 2016
https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g186332-d7059491-r358485766-The_Wheatsheaf-Blackpool_Lancashire_England.html#
06/10/15
Nancy Barrett
5 star Probably my favourite pub in Preston & surrounding...warm, welcoming owners & staff, tip-top food, smashing service, in fact everything a proper pub should be...lovely open fires and the locals are so lovely too, and the prices are good. If you've not been, then you're missing out.
07/05/15
Trip Advisor
“Good food, Great atmosphere- And you can bring your 4 legged friend!!!”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 26 February 2015Visited for an early Sunday roast with the kids and our Labrador. Pub has a great charm and the roaring fire made our meal even more enjoyable. Lots of ales and ciders available and good food served with politeness. Truly a top venue, especially for the whole family as smaller portion sizes are available. We'll be back soon!
07/05/15
Trip Advisor
Wholesome food, nice place to be, and good value for money.”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 14 April 2015We stopped off for lunch with a friend after a Country walk nearby, and we were delighted with the experience. Nothing fancy on the menu's, but the food is very very nice, and very reasonably priced. There are two menus, one with a good choice of courses at £5.00 each, and a more comprehensive menu, offering a decent choice of food for meat eaters and vegetarians. I had the 'smaller' gammon dish, which is a lovely locally produced piece of gammon, so tender you don't really need the steak knife provided, pineapple, rustic chips, onion rings,and garden peas. It may be sold as 'smaller', but it was a really generous portion. My Wife had the chick pea curry, with chips and garlic bread; that too was generous in size, and She really enjoyed it. It is a lovely clean pub, well cared for and the standard of service is second to none, we will definitely return. Although the pub is dog friendly, ours had been in water, and confined to the hatchback!

Visited April 2015
10/04/15
Steve
Just to say we called for lunch today . First time we had been.Absolutely fab. Fantastic warm welcome by the two girls behind the bar. Steak Pies were amazing as were our puddings . See you soon ! Steve and Tracey
 
10/03/15
Jack G
Landlords Peter and Ness have really revived the traditional English country Pub. The food is basic good quality Pub grub. As Ness will hasten to point out, she is a cook not a chef, but the food and the service is excellent.The cask beers are also kept in first class condition.The log fires andf friendly atmosphere have put this pub on the map.
10/03/15
Hillary K
“Good food, Great atmosphere- And you can bring your 4 legged friend!!!”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 26 February 2015Visited for an early Sunday roast with the kids and our Labrador. Pub has a great charm and the roaring fire made our meal even more enjoyable. Lots of ales and ciders available and good food served with politeness. Truly a top venue, especially for the whole family as smaller portion sizes are available. We'll be back soon!Add testimonial text here...
15/08/14
Joseph Cho
Love their steak. Fantastic atmosphere with the 300 year old fireplace.
06/08/14
Marie
Hi Just wanted to say what a great meal and friendly service we received today. I would highly recommend visiting your pub not only was the service great but the food was very well priced and of a high standard. The garden was well looked after and everything was clean and fresh and my two dogs were made very welcome. Thanks Marie
07/07/14
Ray Neary
Steve Rostrons birthday on Saturday night was magic and I had the added bonus of staying over at The Wheatsheaf and it was fabulous nothing was too much trouble for mine hosts Ness and Pete and their wonderful staff!! The breakfast was so good and I look forward to staying over again soon.
16/10/13
Michael & Val

just what a country pub should be, a pub that does food not an eating house that serves beer. Warm welcome, pleasant atmosphere, a good mix of tradition while still catering for the younger element. A lounge on one side and a pool table on the other but neither detracted from the other . There is a very nice beer garden/patio area that is peaceful and well laid out. Would recommend you visit this pub they have hand pulled ale that is well kept and well pulled, not a glass of froth that you get from some places. I would give them 5*s and ask them not to change a thing, there are very few pubs of this caliber left and it should be preserved. Well done.
10/08/13
Michael & Jean
We travel to The Wheatsheaf now and again but have noticed a step change in the friendly buzz the place has taken on since Pete and Ness moved in. Pete has the Cask Ale like Nectar and the food is delish ! a massive credit to all their hard work.
18/07/13
Eddie Nutter
The best pub in Preston by miles !!!
27/06/13
Ali & Brian
We found this lovely pub, as we were lost!....What a great find...great food, excellent, friendly service, and a lovely atmosphere...now that we know where you are, we will certainly return..thank you!
21/05/13
Barry Robinson
What a lovely Pub, good luck to Pete & Ness. xx
06/05/13
Mary C Dickson
Lovely food, friendly people, good beer and a warm and sunny beer garden. We had a superb day and will definitely come back soon!
10/04/13
John Higham
PETE AND NESS HAVE BREATHED NEW LIFE INTO THE PUB. WE HAVE BEEN VISITING THE PUB FOR 18 MONTHS AND HAVE NOTICED THAT SINCE THEY HAVE TAKEN OVER THAT THERE IS A BUZZ AROUND THE PLACE. THE INTRODUCTION OF WHOLESOME PUB GRUB ENHANCES THE GOOD OL COUNTRY PUB FEEL.
GO ON! GIVE IT A TRY.
31/03/13
Kerry Jones
It's under new management now Peter and Ness. Found them to be very welcoming. They have only had the pub for 2 weeks and already the pub was buzzing with locals. The Sunday lunch was outstanding. 
Shall be back with out a doubt.
19/03/13
Lisa Thackwray
Lovely place called in to say hello today ! Good to see alls good.